Do I need a short-stay visa for Austria, Norway, Great Britain or Ireland?

No. In line with the EU Decision on visa liberalisation with the Republic of North Macedonia of 19 December 2009, Macedonian nationals are granted a visa-free entry and short-term stay of up to 90 days within a 180-day period in all EU member states, except the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. The decision is also implemented by the signatories of the Schengen Agreement: Iceland, Norway and Switzerland. 

We highlight that you need to obtain an appropriate entry visa before travelling to Great Britain and the Republic of Ireland. 

If you travel frequently to the Schengen Area, it is your responsibility to calculate the remaining number of days within the six month period. Therefore, you can travel multiple times so long as the duration of all those stays does not exceed a total of 90 days in any 180-day period. 

For any stay longer than 90 days the nationals of the Republic of North Macedonia are required to apply for a long-stay visa or a residence permit.

Last updated: 23 November 2020